"Can any of you
seriously say the Bill of Rights could get through Congress today? It wouldnt even
get out of committee."--F. Lee Bailey
Did you Know:
1. You do not have to take any of the field sobriety tests. HOWEVER if you don't, the officer can still arrest you.
2. You do not have to take the hand-held breath analyzer test. HOWEVER if you don't, the officer can still arrest you.
3. You do not have to answer questions about if, when or where you were drinking. HOWEVER if you don't, the officer can still arrest you.
4. The charge will be "suspicion of DUI".
5. You do not have the right to speak to a lawyer before you take any incriminating tests.
6. The officer is not required to read you your rights, even if he arrests you, until after you take the legally admissable breath test at the police station.
7. Without knowing it, you have consented to take the breath, blood or urine test at the police station or hospital.
8. If you refuse to take the above test your license will be suspended on the spot for 6 months to 20 years.
9. Even if you refuse, sometimes you can be restrained and forced to give a blood sample.
10. If you are arrested for suspicion of DUI and pass the mandatory test at the station or hospital, you must still spend time and money to have your record cleared of the arrest.
11. Even if you are cleared, the arrest can be used, in some instances, as weight against you if you are arrested again.
12. You do not have the right to a jury trial unless the charges carry a sentence longer than 6 months.
13. You do not have the right to obtain a sample of the evidence against you.
14. You don't have the right to see the hand-held test results.
15. You don't have to be over .08 BAC to be declared DUI.
16. In some states, you can
be .00 BAC and still be declared DUI.
(Some state laws vary slightly offering either more or less freedom. Ask your congressperson what the laws are for your state. Then call a local DUI lawyer to get the facts.)
If .080 is Drunk, What is a reading of below .015?
Atlanta Thrashers star Dany Heatley was not drunk when he was driving the car that crashed, killing teammate Dan Snyder, according to the Georgia Bureau of Investigation's crime lab. "Alcohol was present, but it was below 0.015, which is the crime lab test [minimum] reporting limit," Friedly said. "That's the lowest point that their test registers, and it was somewhere below that." In Georgia, the legal limit for drunken driving charges is 0.08. He could potentially face a lesser driving under the influence charge, called "DUI less safe," Friedly said.---Philadelphia Daily News. (Get the message: Any alcohol, no matter how little is always the cause of the accident.)